Solo Stranger in KL

by Akim

I arrived in Kuala Lumpur at 1:30 am on May 8.

Arrived!!!

To say preparation is key when traveling is an understatement. It’s a good thing Kuya bought me 100 Malaysian Ringgit for the few hours I will be staying in Kuala Lumpur for a meal and a sim card were the must haves I got right when I arrived.

I have this reservation at Tune Hotel but I didn’t know where it was or how far it was from the airport, and I don’t dare ride a taxi or anything for that matter. So with booties on my feet and a pepper spray in my hand, I ventured out to find this hotel. Good enough, as I rounded the street away from LCCT, Lo and Behold! there shining in red lights were the letters “Tune Hotel” it might as well been read as “Haven”. After a long 5 hour flight, all I wanted to do was fall in a deep slumber.

The Bellman was strangely inquisitive. And that was more than enough for my paranoia to rule me. I instinctively pushed the heavy side table against the door and backed itΒ  up by pushing theΒ  bed next to it. I changed into my comfy jammies,Β  informed kuya and daddy of my safety, prayed and talked to mama right before I fell asleep.

The next morning I left my things in the hotel and watched a good view from the hotel corridors.

Clean and Green KL

KL street to LCCT

The next morning I left my things in the hotel, went out to get some breakfast and this restaurant “Taste of Asia” located just outside the LCCT airport looked most inviting. I ordered the very well known Malaysian Specialty “Nasi Lemak” for 9.oo RM which is probably equivalent to Php 117.oo

Rice, egg, raw cucumber, peanuts, spicy sauce,spicy dried fish and spicy chicken in spicy sauce.

*NOM NOM NOM*

I toured the terminal for a while, checked out my things, toured again, all before I boarded the Plane going to Kolkata, India.

